“Against Kerry Washington, you will lose.”

I read Self magazine because I applaud the bold, innovative way they’ve cleverly shortened the title from Self-Loathing.

But also, the latest cover model is Kerry Washington, who is my personal Jesus. And in the interview, she says she begins her day by drinking a liter of water with lemon and doing pilates. (Or, after a liter of water, pee-lates, I can only assume.)

Today I was thinking about how I started my morning:

“Well, Self, I swore out loud at the alarm clock and hit ‘snooze’ 86 times. I hoisted myself out of bed angrily and fumbled around naked looking for an outfit, anything that fits because I’m never sure anymore. And then I shoved Lexapro and two types of OTC drugs into my sinus-infection-addled face with a Dixie cup of tap water from the bathroom sink, followed by an enormous vat of coffee, and now I am finally, but still barely, able to face humanity.”

This is why they don’t let me talk to the media. And why Kerry Washington never returns my calls.

One thought on ““Against Kerry Washington, you will lose.”

  1. A liter? Maybe I’m weird, but I don’t think I could do that much of any kind of liquid on a just out of bed stomach- at least, not without it going remarkably badly.

Leave a Reply

